Customer Service

Having worked in retail and dealing with customers for over five years now through my multiple part-time jobs I guess you could say I know a thing or two about good customer service. Everyone has either dealt with or even been that angry and disgruntled customer before that was upset with the service they had experienced or for any other typical reason you may hear on a daily basis. When I first had an encounter with a not-so-happy guest I didn’t know how to react or what to say, but now that I am a veteran in retail I can handle them with ease. A lot of the time people just want a simple apologize for any inconvenience they may have experienced, and for you to simple just help them with whatever it is they may need. Sometimes it only takes an few extra seconds or maybe minutes to help a customer, and that can go along way. Helping that person with even the slightest issue, will not only make that customer happy and have had their needs and wants fulfilled, but they will remember that experience and want to continue shopping at your establishment. I know at times it can be frustrating helping someone who was not the nicest to you when asking for that help, but sometimes you gotta fake it till you make it and just put a smile on and do the job. It also feels good in the end to help a customer out and to see them happy and very appreciative of what you have done for them. And sometimes even taking the time to speak to your supervisor and tell them how truly helpful and great you may have been. I know when I have great customer experience somewhere I take that step of letting the supervisor know how great their staff was. So next time you are checking out at the grocery store or need assistance while shopping for an item be sure to be grateful to the employee helping you out.

Leave a comment